Friday, August 21, 2009

The Elections of 1997

On November 5, 1996 President Farooq Ahmed Khan Leghari dismissed the Benazir Bhutto government on the charges of lawlessness, corruption and maladministration. He also dissolved the National and Provincial assemblies.
On February 3, 1997, elections were held for the National and Provincial assemblies simultaneously. Pakistan Muslim League won these elections with a wide margin. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif became the Prime Minister of Pakistan for the second time.
People had high hopes in the Nawaz government that it would curb lawlessness, control malpractices in public organizations and institutions and eliminate the curse of corruption from every walk of life. They had also expected that the economy of the country will be revitalized and strengthened, reducing the burden of foreign loans and improving the living conditions of common man. But this government miserably failed in the achievement of these objectives. His government slowly and gradually started concentrating all powers in the hands of the Prime Minister, resulting in the evening of October 12, 1999; the Pakistan army led by General Parvez Musharraf removed the government of Mr. Mohammad Nawaz Sharif, suspended the Senate, National Assembly and Provincial Assemblies and kept the 1973 Constitution in abeyance. The President of Pakistan issued a proclamation of emergency forthwith and promulgated Provincial Constitutional Order (P.C.O) No.1 of 1999 on October 14, 1999. The military government was duly accepted and welcomed by the people of Pakistan.
The President of Pakistan Mr. Mohammad Rafique Tarer has resigned form his office and through amendment in P.C.O-1, General Parvez Musharraf has taken an oath, as a President of Pakistan on 20th June 2001. Simultaneously, the suspended Provincial and Federal Assemblies, including Senate were also dismissed.


0 Responses to “The Elections of 1997”

Post a Comment

© 2013 Notes for Pakistan. All rights reserved.
Designed by SpicyTricks